Log in




Log in

Massachusetts Library Association Hall of Fame

2016 Nomination Application

All Materials must be received by Thursday, December 31, 2015

Submit online at
or fill out the form below and send with your application materials.


Nominee Information:













In your application:

  • ·         Include at least two letters of support for your nominee from other individuals.  (Writers of support letters do not need to be MLA members.)


  • ·         Describe the nominee's contributions to the cause of Massachusetts librarians or librarianship in 500 words or less, using the criteria set forth on the first page. 
  • ·         Make your application as thorough as possible.  Your nominee not only competes against other nominees, but also against the entries of all the nominators statewide. 


Other comments:

Nominator Information. 
Nominations are accepted only from current MLA members.













Send all materials by Thursday, December 31, 2015 to:

Nancy Sheehan, Head of Youth Services

c/o Lucius Beebe Memorial Library, 345 Main Street, Wakefield, MA  01880

All nominations and letters will be acknowledged. 
If you do not receive an acknowledgment, please contact us.


The MLA Public Relations Committee invites nominations for the Massachusetts Library Association’s 2016 Hall of Fame. 


Do you know a great candidate?  Hall of Fame nominees are practicing or retired librarians who have made at least a ten-year sustained, substantial contribution to advancing the cause of Massachusetts librarians or librarianship. They may work or have worked in school, public, special, or academic libraries, library education, agencies, or associations.  Their contributions reach regional, statewide, or national levels.  Nominees and nominators must be active members of MLA. 


The Public Relations Committee takes the following criteria into consideration in judging applications:

  • ·         Public Service – the capacity to which the nominee has affected library services to the public on a regional, statewide, or national level.
  • ·         Education – the capacity to which the nominee has influenced students of library science
  • ·         Mentoring – the capacity to which the nominee has guided other librarians, library technicians, and students of library science.
  • ·         Advocacy – the capacity to which the nominee has informed decision-makers, public officials, and citizens of the importance of librarianship and its issues.
  • ·         Service to the profession – the capacity to which the nominee has served on regional, state or national library organizations, committees and associations.
  • ·         The reach of the nominee’s contributions can include: library patrons, students, mentees, institutional staff, targeted audiences, or underserved populations. 


The Hall of Fame Award is presented even numbered years and recognizes 3 – 5 of our colleagues for their long term contributions to the profession. This year’s inductees will be honored at red-carpet gala at MLA’s Annual conference, to be held at the Conference Center in Hyannis on Monday, May 16 through Wednesday, May 18, 2016.


Nomination applications must be received by Thursday, December 31, 2015. Nominations are evaluated by the MLA Public Relations Committee.  Committee recommendations will be submitted to the MLA Executive Board for final approval. 


Please contact MLA PR Committee Co-Chairs for further information:

Jocelyn Tavares (Dighton Public Library) at 508-669-6421

Nancy Sheehan (Beebe Library, Wakefield) at 781-246-6334, ext. 3


2014 MLA Hall of Fame Inductees


Nancy Aberman
Mentor and Community Outreach

Debby Conrad

Consortium Leadership

Mary King

Special Library Activist and Innovator

Rob Maier

Former Director of MBLC

Linda Watkins

Librarian, Beatley Library, Simmons College


Past MLA Hall of Fame Inductees

2012: Leane Ellis, Jackie Rafferty, Bonnie Isman, Maureen Killoran

2010:  Tamson Ely, Corinne Fisher, Bonnie O’Brien, James Sutton

2008:  Ruth Kowal, Krista McLeod, Sharon St. Hilaire

2006:  Joseph Hopkins, Christine Kardokas, Anne M. O'Brien

2004:  Louise Brown, Kim Charlson, Marjorie Judd

2002:  Keith Michael Fiels, Lois Kane, James Matarazzo, Anne Reynolds

2000:  Donna Guerin, Professor Ruth Leonard, Edward J. Montana

1998:  Maggie Bush, Audrey Friend, Shelley Quezada, Jan Resnick

1996:  Kay Bader, Connie Clancy, Virginia Tashjian




Call Us:


Email Us:

Write Us:

P.O. Box 901 Bellingham | MA 02019

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software